Hello out there!

Welcome to the official home of the Flour Gal!  This is a new venture for me.  I have always enjoyed cooking and baking, now I am going to try and begin a new chapter of my life with it.  I am going to try and put myself out there as a baker.  Cookie (my beautiful chrome Kitchen Aid mixer) and I are waiting to fill empty bellies with yummy treats!

The first cookie I ever taught myself to bake was Italian Wedding cookies.  I made them for a Roman Festival in my sixth grade history class.  I got the recipe from the local newspaper.  Everyone ranted and raved about how good the cookies were, I, however, didn’t care for them.  They had anise in it, which I don’t like.  Over the next few years, I altered the recipe and not only took out a few ingredients, but I also added a few secret ones too!  That is when my love for baking emerged.  By the way,it has been years since I was in sixth grade and I still get requests to make “my” cookies!

Today I often bake cakes, cupcakes, brownies, cookies and even truffles from scratch.  I also work on healthier bakes goods too.  I have created recipes using wheat flour as well as played around with the sugar content of some cookies.  I believe that I have made some pretty tasty cookies through trial and error.  I hope to eventually be able to try gluten free as well as sugar free baking.

Please stay tuned as my venture in baking begins!

Leave a comment